Girifna (we are fed up)

Today I received an interesting email from the website of the great people’s revolution movement in Sudan named “Girifna”. As the website says it, the word is Arabic and Sudanese in particular, literally meaning we are disgusted and metaphorically meaning we are fed up.

http://www.girifna.com

The movement is very interesting, and inspiring to me because it has been initiated by angry university students in Sudan, they want change and they want better. For me the fact that there are people out there, young people, who are daring and caring enough to do such a thing is a great feeling, despite the little fear of disappointment I get when I read all their encouraging and empowering statements, I fear what if all this couldn’t be achieved ? all the goals and ultimate causes this whole movement is about, what if they failed tremendously ?

Not to sound negative at all, it’s just natural for me I believe as a Sudanese youth to fear our oppressing government, their power and their rigid ignorant mentality. Although I sound like speaking freely here, but I will not deny that I still do fear. After deeper thinking, I manage to throw that fear away when I think to myself that I’m only doing and saying what is right, talking on behalf of millions of Sudanese people. This is my pursuit of happiness. One happy peaceful Sudan.

It is worth mentioning though that Girifna is the first movement of its kind in this time we live in. For years people were silent and who ever tried to oppose the government had to face fatal consequences. I believe since the world and the international community is giving Sudan more attention at the time being, that somehow is just a little bit holding the government from taking outrageous actions against the loud protesters. Although a number of members from the movement, young girls and boys did get punished when they were at the peak of their revolution raising awareness in the public streets before the recent rigged elections.

Back to the email I received from Girifna, it was about their noble vision of giving back the Sudanese citizens their rights in full, their plans, their strategies. Poor me can’t afford any donations at the time being, I would do it in the very soon chance though, with anything I have. They asked people in the diaspora like me to start calling for the movement, telling people about it and raise awareness among their mini Sudanese communities. I am worried though that where I live, Malaysia is the second home for NCPians. Seriously. You can also hardly find young people who are interested in the big picture, the change, they are too shallow to think of politics, to them home is a place where the happy family is and where they eat, party and meet great friends and relatives.. Well, I can’t blame them, they have money and their parents are usually able to support their education in Malaysia, why would they care ?! That’s their mentality. Why bother myself with politics ? They have grown careless about their identity as Sudanese people. Not that I am any different, but when it comes to motherland I just can’t pretend to ignore. – And that’s the problem with Sudan, the attitude of the people and their carelessness, its driving us down the cliff. That is exactly why I’m excited about Girifna. There is someone who cares enough, dares enough, to put up a proper website and go out yelling and calling for our rights in the streets.

I want to highlight an issue I find interesting. A few days ago an incident happened in Beirut where Lebanese police men attacked a group of Sudanese people who were gathering to raise funds for a cancer Sudanese patient. For some reason those policemen attacked and beat up everyone in the place, and also used racist language with them. It did get the Sudanese people to their boiling point that some random police men insulted 40 million Sudanese as they say, by treating them like animals. I do agree, very strongly that this is not acceptable, completely. Problem is this issue has drawn 100% attention from the public, the percentage of attention which so many other issues are actually worth getting, Darfur is one good example. If it has been raged about Darfur like it has been about the Lebanon  incident, probably by now a few more women would have been saved from raping in the wester region of the country. Who cares about a bloody racist Lebanese anyway when you have way bigger issues like dividing the land into two ? Nonetheless, thanks to those who requested official apologies from the Lebanese government, I personally accept it for now until we come back at a better time to deal with Beirut. !

My friends and people around me, some on Facebook too, would usually warn me for being too loud about my anti-Basheerism. Some of them would warn me in a threatening way too (like we belong to the Basheer party, beware!). But seriously who cares ? I wouldn’t be the first voice to scream and get a bullet shoved down his throat.  Many died and many were tortured before me, I mean if it ever gets to the extreme of death, I will die knowing I died for a good cause, for my country. Isn’t it honorary ? – Plus really, I’m nothing compared to the strong opposition leaders out there, the founders of Girifna, the people who know how to state the facts, the numbers and do the right speaking, the intellectual well equipped angry Sudanese people who know how to articulate the sweet defeat of ignorance, without a single bullet, only with elite knowledge; a weapon, the NCP has a long way to acquire.

I do use this blog to let out my endless anger and patriotism for Sudan. Please bare with my poor writing and I hope I am actually sharing a material worth reading here.

Tee.

Leave a Reply

